Login to your classes -->>

Close Icon
   
Contact Info    

Pharmacy Technician State Requirements   arrow

Below are the Pharmacy Technician requirements by state. Please note: This chart is provided as an informational service only and is not to be construed as legal advice. While reasonable attempts were made to ensure accuracy of this information at the time of writing, it is subject to change. Readers are encouraged to check the applicable statutes or board regulations for the latest information. This information does not come with any expressed or implied warranty. Hyperlinks used below may expire if the Board of Pharmacy has made changes to its website. If a hyperlink does not work, you can still access the referenced information by visiting the Board of Pharmacy website address listed for each state.

State Requirements

State Requirements
Alabama
Alabama State Board of Pharmacy
10 Inverness Center, Suite 110 Birmingham, AL 35242
Phone: 205/981-2280
Fax: 205/981-2330
Web site: www.albop.com
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required:
1. Applicant must be at least 17 years old.
2. Applicant must submit an application ($60) to the pharmacy board.

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($60) to the pharmacy board biannually on odd-numbered years due on October 31st and delinquent by December 31st.

Training
Not Required: However, it is a rule that three (3) technicians, one (1) of whom has certification through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) are sufficient in the prescription area for each licensed pharmacist on duty

Continuing Education
Required: Alabama State Board requires three hours of CE annually, one of which must be a live presentation.

Alaska
Alaska Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: 907/465-2589
Fax: 907/465-2974
Web site: www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/ppha.htm
E-mail: [email protected]

Licensure
Required: Before beginning employment as a technician.
1. Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
2. Applicant must not have been convicted of a felony that may affect the applicant’s ability to perform his duties within five years of applying.
3. Applicant must provide evidence of a high school diploma or equivalent.
4. Applicant must be able to certify that he is fluent in the reading, writing, and speaking of the English language.
5. Applicant must submit an application ($100) to the state board.

Renewal
Required:All certificates expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of when first issued, except new certificates issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued through the next biennium. Refer to 12 AAC 52.325 for continuing education requirements.

Training
On the job training:
“Before an individual may regularly perform the tasks of a pharmacy technician, the individual shall complete training required by the pharmacist-in-charge. Duties performed by the pharmacy technician must be consistent with the training the pharmacy technician has received.”

“A pharmacy technician, working with sterile pharmaceuticals, including parenteral medications, must complete a minimum of 40 hours of on-the-job training in the preparation, sterilization, aseptic technique, and admixture of parenteral before beginning work.”

Continuing Education
Required: Technicians are required to complete 10 contact hours of continuing education approved by the pharmacy board per renewal period. Current certification by a board-approved program will suffice as evidence of CE.

A technician who is renewing for the first time may:
1. Verify through an affidavit that he has read the state’s statutes and regulations OR
2. Submit an affidavit, signed by the pharmacist-in-charge, confirming the applicant’s training in accordance with 12 AAC 52.230.

Arizona
Arizona State Board of Pharmacy
1700 W Washington, Suite 250 Phoeniz, AZ 85007
Phone: 602/771-2727
Fax: 602/771-2749
Web site: www.azpharmacy.gov
E-mail: [email protected]

Licensure
Technician Trainee (Not PTCB Certified) license requirements:
1. Applicant must be of good moral character.
2. Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
3. Proof of Legal US Residency.
4. Applicant must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
5. Applicant must submit an application ($46) to the state board.

Requirements for a certified technician [ARS 32-1923.01]:
1. Meet all the requirements for a technician trainee.
2. PTCB certification
3. Up to $52

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($36 + an additional fee for a wall certificate) to the pharmacy board annually by November 1st.

Training
As needed to pass PTCB certification. Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records. [AZ Board Reg. R4-23-1105]

Continuing Education
Required: 20 hours of CE, two of which must be in pharmacy law.

Arkansas
Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy
101 E Capitol, Suite 218 Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501/682-0190
Fax: 501/682-0195
Web site: www.arkansas.gov/asbp
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required before working as a technician
1. Applicants must request and submit an application ($108.50) from the state board.
2. Applicants must attain a high school diploma or a GED.
3. Criminal background check is required.

Renewal
Required: $35 annually. [AR Prac Act 03-00-0002]

Training
Not Required

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1; not including pharmacy interns counted as either supportive personnel or pharmacists. Also excluded from the count of supportive personnel are those persons whose functions are not related to the preparation or distribution of medication. Such persons include clerks, secretaries, messengers, and delivery personnel.

Continuing Education
Not Required

California
California State Board of Pharmacy
1625 N Market Blvd, N219 Sacramento, CA 95834
Phone: 916/574-7900
Fax: 916/574-8618
Web site: www.pharmacy.ca.gov
E-mail: [email protected]

Licensure
To be licensed as a pharmacy technician in California, you must qualify under A, B, or C as listed below and be a high school graduate or possess a general educational development (GED) certificate:

A. If you are qualifying by one of the following methods, the Affidavit of Completed Coursework or Graduation for Pharmacy Technician (page 4 of the application) must be submitted with your application.

  • An Associate Degree in Pharmacy Technology;

Any other course that provides a minimum of 240 hours of instruction as specified in Title 16 California Code of Regulation section 1793.6(c);

  • A training course accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP); or
  • Graduation from a school of pharmacy accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE).

B. If you are certified by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB), you must submit a certified true copy of your PTCB certificate or the original certificate with your application. (A certified true copy is a copy that has been notarized as a true copy.)

C. If you are qualifying by training provided by a branch of the federal armed services, you must submit a copy of your DD214 with your application. Background check is required

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($50) to the pharmacy board annually.

Training
As listed under licensing.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1; except that this ratio shall not apply to personnel performing clerical functions.

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification: California law does not require pharmacy technicians to be certified. As long as the technician has completed the required training outlined

Colorado
Colorado State Board of Pharmacy
1560 Broadway, Suite 1310 Denver, CO 80202-5143
Phone: 303/894-7800
Fax: 303/894-7764
Web site: www.dora.state.co.us
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Not Required

Renewal
Not Required

Training
Not Required

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 3:1; of which no more than two may be interns. Nevertheless, if there are three technicians on duty, at least one shall:

1. Be recognized by a national certification board,

2. Possess a degree from an accredited pharmacy technician training program

OR

3. Complete 500 hours of experiential training outlined in the regulations. [CO Board Reg. 7.00.30(b)] Pharmacy technicians may use The National Pharmacy Technician Training Program together with appropriate supervision of 500 hours of practical experience.

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

Connecticut
Connecticut Commission of Pharmacy
Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
License Services Division
165 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: 860/713-6070
Fax: 860/713-7242
Web site: www.ct.gov/dcp/site/default.asp
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required, after obtaining a position in a pharmacy within the state of Connecticut
1. Applicant must submit an application ($100) to the pharmacy board within 30 days of commencing on the job training.
2. Applicants can be certified pharmacy technicians if the applicant has PTCB certification or have completed other board-approved training program.

Renewal
Required, $50. Annual expiration March 31st.

Training
On the job training required: Pharmacy manager is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records. Training shall include but not be limited to:

1. On-the-job training
AND
2. Education of technicians’ responsibilities.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1; however the ratio may be increased to 3:1 if:

1.The pharmacy prepares sterile products, dispenses unit doses and does bulk compounding
OR
2.One of the three technicians is certified by PTCB.

Continuing Education
Required: The pharmacist manager shall assure the continued competency of pharmacy technicians through continuing in-service training designed to supplement initial training. [CT Board Reg. 20-576-37]

Delaware
Delaware State Board of Pharmacy
Division of Professional Regulation
Cannon Building 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Suite 203 Dover, DE 19904 Phone: 302/744-4526
Fax: 302/739-2711
Web site: www.dpr.delaware.gov
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Not Required

Renewal
Not Required

Training
On the job training required: Pharmacy manager is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records.

Continuing Education
Not Required

District of Columbia
District of Columbia Board of Pharmacy
717 – 14th St NW, Suite 600 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202/724-4900
Fax: 202/727-8471
Web site: www.dchealth.dc.gov
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Not Required

Renewal
Not Required

Training
Not Required

Continuing Education
Not Required

Florida
Florida Board of Pharmacy
Division of Medical Quality Assurance
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C04 Tallahassee, FL 32399-3254
Phone: 850/245-4292
Fax: 850/413-6982
Web site: www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Effective January 1, 2011, any person who wishes to work as a pharmacy technician in the State of Florida must register with the Board of Pharmacy. To register with the Board of Pharmacy, an applicant must submit the following items:

1. Pharmacy Technician Registration Application

2. $105.00 Fee ($50.00 non-refundable application fee, $50.00 registration fee, $5.00 unlicensed application fee)

3. Proof of completion of a board-approved pharmacy technician-training program. CVS Caremark?
*If the person is enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician training program, that person can work as a pharmacy technician without registering with the board. Once the person has completed the training program, they must register with the Board in order to continue practicing as a pharmacy technician. Student technicians must complete a 160 hour training course within a six month period.

4. Background check

Renewal
Required

Training
Required

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio can be 1:1, 2:1, or 3:1 if approved by the board. [FL Practice Act 465.014, FL Board Reg. 64b16-27.420]

Continuing Education
Required: Registered Pharmacy Technicians are required to obtain a minimum of 12 contact hours of continuing education (CE) of which 2 hours must be via live presentation and 2 hours must be related to the prevention of medication errors and 1 hour must be in HIV/Aids education for the first renewal if they are licensed more than 12 months before the expiration of the license. If they are licensed less than 12 months they are only required to obtain 1 contact hour in the prevention of HIV/Aids.

Georgia
Georgia State Board of Pharmacy
Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr Macon, GA 31217-3858
Phone: 478/207-2440
Fax: 478/207-1633
Web site: http://gbp.georgia.gov/
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Yes, Board rule 480-15-02 requires that pharmacy technicians register with the Board. You may submit an application for registration online at gbp.georgia.gov

  • $100.00 application fee (non-refundable)
  • Applicant must attest that he or she is at least 17 years old;
  • Applicant must attest that he or she is currently enrolled in high school, has a high school diploma or has a GED;
  • Applicant must obtain a criminal history background check through the Cogent Systems/GAPS at a GAPS location;
  • If currently employed in a pharmacy, submit the license number of the pharmacy where the applicant is employed; and
  • If certified, submit a copy of your Pharmacy Technician Certification Board certificate.

Renewal
Yes, pharmacy technicians must renew their registrations before June 30th of odd numbered years. The renewal fee is $60

Training
Not Required

Ratio
The pharmacist to pharmacy technician ratio may not exceed one pharmacist providing direct supervision of two pharmacy technicians; however, the pharmacist to pharmacy technician may not exceed one pharmacist providing direct supervision to three pharmacy technicians if one of the technicians is nationally certified.

Continuing Education
Not required by the Georgia Board of Pharmacy, but may be required to maintain PTCB certification.

Certification
Not required, but recognize PTCB

Hawaii
Hawaii State Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801
Phone: 808/586-2694
Fax: 808/586-2874
Web site: www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/pvl/boards/pharmacy
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Not Required

Renewal
Not Required

Training
Not Required

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
Not Required

Idaho
Idaho Board of Pharmacy
3380 Americana Terrace, Suite 320 Boise, ID 83706
Phone: 208/334-2356
Fax: 208/334-3536
Web site: bop.idaho.gov/
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required:
Technician-in-training (not PTCB certified)
1. The applicant must submit an application ($35) to the board of pharmacy. [IDAPA 27.01.01] 2. Be at least 18years old
3. Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
4. Background check
* expires June 30th each year, renewable two times

Certified Technician
1. Registered with the board and/or
2. Certified by one of the approved certification boards (PTCB or ExCPT)
3. Must be fingerprinted
4. Expires June 30th each year

Renewal
Required, expires June 30th each year.

Training
Required, per certification requirements.
Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program for preparing, compounding, and distributing medications and is also responsible for maintaining records. [IDAPA 27.01.01]

Ratio
A combined technician/pharmacist and student/pharmacist ration to a ceiling of 6:1 was adopted in 2009. [IDAPA 27.01.01]

Continuing Education
Per Certification requirements

Illinois
Illinois Division of Professional Regulation — State Board of Pharmacy
320 W Washington, Suite 312 Springfield, IL 62786
Phone: 217/785-0800
Fax: 217/782-7645
Web site: www.idfpr.com
E-mail: [email protected] (through Department of Professional Regulation)

Registration
Registered Pharmacy Technician:
a) An applicant for registration as a pharmacy technician shall file an application on forms supplied by the Division, together with:

  • A copy of his or her high school diploma or its equivalent, or proof of current enrollment in a high school program; and
  • The fee required by Section 1330.20 of this Part.

b) Pursuant to Section 9 of the Act, an applicant may assist a registered pharmacist for 60 days upon submission of an application or, submission for reinstatement not due to disciplinary action, to the Division in accordance with subsection (a). A copy of the application must be maintained by the applicant at the site of employment during and until notice of registration or disqualification is received by the applicant and must be readily retrievable for review by the Drug Compliance Investigator.

c) A pharmacy technician must renew his or her registration with the Division on an annual basis.

d) Technician certificate of registration must be displayed and visible to the public in the pharmacy where the pharmacy technician is employed.

e) Every registered pharmacy technician shall notify the Division of any change in the address on record within 30 days after the change.

f) No pharmacist whose license has been denied, revoked, suspended or restricted for disciplinary purposes is eligible to be registered as a Pharmacy Technician.

Certified Pharmacy Technician
a) An individual may receive certification as a certified pharmacy technician if he or she:

  • Has submitted a written application in the form and manner prescribed;
  • Has attained the age of 18;
  • Is of good moral character, as determined by the Division;
  • Graduated from a pharmacy technician training program approved by a nationally recognized accrediting body or obtained documentation from the pharmacist-in-charge of the pharmacy where the applicant is employed verifying that he or she has successfully completed a training program as provided for in Section 1330.210(a);

b) Has successfully passed an examination accredited by the National Organization for Competency Assurance (NOCA), as approved and required by the Board. The Division, upon the recommendation of the Board, has determined that the Exam for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians offered by the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians, and the Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination offered by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board, are accredited by NOCA and are, therefore, approved examinations for certification; and

c) Has paid the required certification fees.

d) No pharmacist whose license has been denied, revoked, suspended or restricted for disciplinary purposes may be eligible to be registered as a certified pharmacy technician

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($25) to the pharmacy board annually. [IL Prac Act 225 ILCS 85/27]

Training
Required:
“(a) It shall be the joint responsibility of a pharmacy and its pharmacist in charge to have trained all of its pharmacy technicians or obtain proof of prior training in all of the following topics as they relate to the practice site:

  1. The duties and responsibilities of the technicians and pharmacists.
  2. Tasks and technical skills, policies, and procedures.
  3. Compounding, packaging, labeling, and storage.
  4. Pharmaceutical and medical terminology. (5) Record keeping requirements.
  5. The ability to perform and apply arithmetic calculations.

(b) Within 6 months after initial employment or changing the duties and responsibilities of a pharmacy technician, it shall be the joint responsibility of the pharmacy and the pharmacist in charge to train the pharmacy technician or obtain proof of prior training in the areas listed in subsection (a) of this Section as they relate to the practice site.

(c) All divisions of pharmacies shall maintain an up-to-date training program describing the duties and responsibilities of a pharmacy technician.

(d) All divisions of pharmacies shall create and maintain retrievable records of training or proof of training as required in this Section.”

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
Not Required

Certification
Required for Certified Pharmacy Technician.

Indiana
Indiana Board of Pharmacy
402 W. Washington St, Room W072 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2739
Phone: 317/234-2067
Fax: 317/233-4236
Web site: www.in.gov/pla/pharmacy/htm
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
The Board shall issue a pharmacy technician certificate to an individual who:
1. submits a completed application and $25 application fee (in the form of a check or money order, made payable to “Professional Licensing Agency”);
2. is at least 18 years of age (in lieu of meeting this requirement, you will need to submit additional documentation; see below for more information);
3. is a high school graduate or has a GED (in lieu of meeting this requirement, you will need to submit additional documentation; see below for more information);
4. has not been convicted of a crime that has direct bearing upon their ability to work with legend drugs or controlled substances;
5. submits to a criminal background check; and
6. has completed an Indiana Board approved training and education program or has passed an Indiana Board approved examination [currently there are two: PTCB or ExCPT].

If you are licensed and/or certified in another state, your state license/certification will not transfer to Indiana. You are required to meet Indiana’s certification requirements in order to qualify for certification in Indiana.

If you have not completed an Indiana board approved training and education program OR have not successfully completed the PTCB or ExCPT examination, then you need to apply for the Indiana Pharmacy Technician-in-Training Permit.

If you currently hold an active technician-in-training permit and have completed your training or examination, you do not need to submit a new application for certification. Please submit your affidavit of completion or certificate of completion from a Board approved training and education program OR copy of PTCB or ExCPT certificate. This documentation may be submitted by faxing it to our office at 317.233.4236 or by mail at 402 W Washington Street, Room W072, Indianapolis, Indiana, 46204.

Renewal
Required: Technician-in-training licenses are nonrenewable and expire 1 year after the date of issuance. Applicant must submit an application for renewal ($25) to the pharmacy board by June 30th on even-numbered years. Renewal applications are mailed to registered technicians or may be obtained at the Board office.

Training
Required: The Indiana Board of Pharmacy requires proof of completion via an affidavit of completion or a certificate of completion of an Indiana Board approved training and education program. A pharmacy technician-in-training permit is valid for one year from the date of issuance.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 4:1. [IN Prac Act IC 25-26-13-18]

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

Iowa
Iowa Board of Pharmacy
400 SW 8th St, Suite E Des Moines, IA 50309-4688
Phone: 515/281-5944
Fax: 515/281-4609
Web site: www.state.ia.us/ibpe
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
All pharmacy technicians and all individuals training to work as pharmacy techs are required to register with the Board by completing and submitting a new application for registration within 30 days of accepting employment as a certified pharmacy technician or technician trainee in an Iowa pharmacy. An individual who fails to register as a pharmacy technician may be subject to disciplinary sanctions.

Technician Trainee
$20, valid for no more than one year starting the date employment or training as a pharmacy technician begins. National certification and registration as a certified pharmacy technician is required before the technician trainee registration expires. If national certification is not completed prior to expiration of the technician trainee registration, employment as a pharmacy technician must be terminated.

Certified Pharmacy Technician
All pharmacy technicians working in Iowa pharmacies must be nationally certified by an accredited technician certification board. Currently accredited boards are the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB ) and the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT).

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($44) to the pharmacy board before the last day of the birth month of the registrant, biannually. Renewal applications are sent approximately two months prior to expiration of a current registration.

Training
Required per national certification requirements. Each pharmacy is responsible for administering a training program and maintaining records. [IA Board Reg. 657–3.17(155A)]

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
As required to maintain certification

Kansas
Kansas State Board of Pharmacy
Landon State Office Building, 900 Jackson, Room 560 Topeka, KS 66612-1231
Phone: 785/296-4056
Fax: 785/296-8420
Web site: www.kansas.gov/pharmacy
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
In 2003 the legislature enacted a law requiring the Board of Pharmacy to register all pharmacy technicians. If you are working as a pharmacy technician you need to be registered with the Board. To request Technician Application Packet, You will need to contact the Board at 785-296-4056. You may also email the Board at [email protected] You only need to register once regardless of how many pharmacies you work for or whether you change jobs. You will keep the same registration number forever. If you have your registration card and you begin working for another pharmacy let them see your registration number so that they do not have you fill out another application or take the test again. The cost of registration is $75.00.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to function as a pharmacy technician in this state unless such person is registered with the board as a pharmacy technician. Every person registered as a pharmacy technician shall pass an examination approved by the board within 30 days of becoming registered.
The board shall adopt rules and regulations establishing the criteria for the required examination and a passing score.

(b) All applications for registration shall be made on a form to be prescribed and furnished by the board. Each application for registration shall be accompanied by a registration fee fixed by the board by rule and regulation of not to exceed $50.

(c) The board shall take into consideration any felony conviction of an applicant, but such conviction shall not automatically operate as a bar to registration.

(d) Each pharmacy technician registration issued by the board shall expire on October 31 of the year specified by the board.

Renewal
Required: Every two years you will renew your Board of Pharmacy registration. This form is not on the Board website. You do not need to take a test to renew. You will receive a renewal in the mail at your home address so it is important that you always let the Board of Pharmacy know if you move. If your registration number ends in an even number you will renew on even years. If your registration ends in an odd number you will renew on odd years. The Board will only send out renewals to those persons who are up for renewal. If you were to receive a renewal and you do not get it then you may contact the Board office but check to make sure that your license registration is odd or even before you call. You will not receive a renewal if it is not your year to renew. The renewal is $25.00. The form is not the same as the original application so please do not fill out an application if you are renewing. The renewal form is not on the internet.

Training
On the job training required. Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records. Training programs are reviewed annually to ensure compliance with the criteria listed in regulations. [K.A.R. 68-5-15]

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. The ratio may be increased to 3:1 as long as two of the three technicians have been certified by PTCB or other pharmacy technician certification organization approved by the board.

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

Kentucky
Kentucky Board of Pharmacy
Spindletop Administration Bldg, Suite 302, 2624 Research Park Dr, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone: 859/246-2820
Fax: 859/246-2823
Web site: pharmacy.ky.gov/
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required, within 30 days of hire.
1. Applicant must be at least 16 years old.
2. Applicant shall be of good mental health and moral character.
3. Applicant must submit an application ($25) to the pharmacy board.

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($25) to the pharmacy board annually by March 31st.

Training
Not Required

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

Louisiana
Louisiana Board of Pharmacy
5615 Corporate Blvd, Suite 8E Baton Rouge, LA 70808-2537
Phone: 225/925-6496
Fax: 225/925-6499
Web site: www.labp.com
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Pharmacy Technician Candidate registration required, $25 + $45.25 background check
1. Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
2. Applicant shall be in good moral character and not be impaired. Background check required
3. Applicant must be a high school graduate or possess an equivalent to a high school diploma.
*Once issued, the pharmacy technician candidate registration shall expire in 18 months, and it is not renewable. The candidate must complete the experience and examination requirements for the technician certificate within that18 month period of time.

Pharmacy Technician Certification required
1. Application for Pharmacy Technician Certificate $100
2. Completion of at least 600 hours of practical experience as pharmacy technician candidate.
3. PTCB certification

Renewal
Applicant must submit a renewal application ($50) to the pharmacy board annually by June 30th.

Training
Education: Beginning on January 1, 2016, all applications for the Pharmacy Technician Certificate shall include evidence of the completion of a nationally-accredited pharmacy technician training program. The only organization that accredits pharmacy technician training programs is the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists; you can view a directory of accredited pharmacy technician training programs by visiting their website at www.ashp.org. For those persons who have already obtained their Pharmacy Technician Candidate Registration by October 7, 2015 who do not wish to complete the nationally-accredited training program, they must submit their application for the Pharmacy Technician Certificate on or before December 31, 2015.

  • Experience: Candidates shall earn at least 600 hours of practical experience in a Louisiana-permitted pharmacy under the supervision of a Louisiana-licensed pharmacist. Neither the pharmacy permit nor the pharmacist license may be on probation during the time when the hours are earned.
  • Examination: Candidates shall pass the technician certification examination administered by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).
  • NOTE: Applicants may not perform technician functions or earn any hours until a registration has been issued. Pharmacy technician candidate registrations expire 18 months after the date of issue and they are not renewable.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1 if there is a technician candidate on duty. The ratio may be increased to 3:1 if there are no technician candidates on duty. [LAC 46:LIII 907]

Continuing Education
Required: Louisiana law requires a minimum of 10 contact hours of CE offered by an ACPE-accredited or Board-approved provider of continuing education per year.

Maine
Maine Board of Pharmacy Department of Professional/Financial Regulation
35 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333
Phone:207/624-8689
Fax: 207/624-8637
Hearing Impaired: 207/624-8563
PFR/OLR Web site: www.maineprofessionalreg.org
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required before they can work
The following is the application procedure:

  • Complete the application for registration. Include appropriate fee (check or money order payable to Treasurer State of Maine, VISA, or MasterCard). $25 license fee, $21 background check

Pharmacy Technician-Advanced certification available

  • Requires PTCB certification

Renewal
Required, $25. License expires Dec 31st annually.

Training
Required: A drug outlet that employs a pharmacy technician shall develop or deploy a training program for pharmacy technicians employed at that drug outlet. The drug outlet shall keep a copy of the training program on site at all times and shall furnish the training program to the board upon inspection or upon request. The pharmacist in charge or other Maine-licensed pharmacist designated by the retail drug outlet shall train each pharmacy technician in accordance with the drug outlet’s training program or shall ensure that each pharmacy technician satisfactorily completes the training program offered by the drug outlet. The training program shall accommodate the needs of the individual technician being trained. The National Pharmacy Technician Training Program can be used to satisfy these requirements.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 3:1; however, the pharmacy may increase the ratio to 4:1 if at least one is certified by a board-approved program (“pharmacy technician-advanced”). Any increase greater than 4:1 must be approved by the pharmacy board. Pharmacy graduates and interns are required to be registered as technicians but are not considered part of the technician-to-pharmacist ratio.

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

Maryland
Maryland Board of Pharmacy
4201 Patterson Ave Baltimore, MD 21215-2299
Phone: 410/764-4755
Fax: 410/358-6207
Web site: dhmh.maryland.gov/pharmacy/SitePages/Technicians.aspx
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required:
1. Applicant must provide evidence that the applicant is a high school student, high school graduate or has a GED.
2. Nationally certified. (If not nationally certified candidate must be 17 years of age, enrolled in or completed a Board-approved training program and pass the accompanying exam.)
3. Applicant must submit an application ($45) to the pharmacy board.
4. Complete and submit a State Criminal history Record Check Application.

Renewal
Required, $45
Applicant must submit a renewal application to the pharmacy board biannually.

Training
Required
Before registration, technicians must:
1. Be certified by a national pharmacy technician certification program
OR
2. Complete a board-approved training program that includes 160 hours of work experience and is no longer than six months’ duration.

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
Required: You are required by law to participate in 10 hours of Continuing Education Programs upon your first renewal and 20 hours thereafter, before your Renewal Registration Card can be issued

Massachusetts
Massachusetts Board of Registration in Pharmacy
239 Causeway St, 2nd Floor Boston, MA 02114
Phone: 617/973-0950
Fax: 617/973-0983
Web site: www.pcshq.com/?page=health,MA-pharmacytechnician
E-mail: [email protected]

Licensure
All pharmacy technicians must be registered by the Board before beginning employment as a pharmacy technician in Massachusetts. Obtain a Pharmacy Technician Registration application from the Board’s licensing vendor, Professional Credentialing Services (PCS) at www.pcshq.com.
There are 3 options to applying for registration as a Pharmacy Technician in Massachusetts:
1. Secure a position as a Pharmacy Technician Trainee in a Massachusetts licensed pharmacy. After you complete at least 500 (but not more than 1000) training hours, you must pass a Board approved pharmacy technician exam. You are required to submit the Massachusetts Pharmacy Technician Registration Application and fee$150 to PCS.

2. You can attend a Board Approved Pharmacy Technician Training Program and pass a Board approved pharmacy technician exam. You are required to submit the Massachusetts Pharmacy Technician Registration Application and fee to PCS. Click this link www.mass.gov/eohhs/provider/licensing/occupational/pharmacy/licensing/pharmacy-techs/pharmacy-technician-training-programs.html

3. If you are a nationally Certified Pharmacy Technician (PTCB or ExCEPT) you must submit the Massachusetts Pharmacy Technician Registration Application and fee to PCS. For more information on Certified Technicians, please contact PTCB or ExCEPT

Renewal
Required, $60 biannually before registrant birthday.

Training
See License section

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 3:1 provided at least one of the three support personnel is a pharmacy intern or a certified pharmacy technician. The ratio can be increased to 4:1 provided at least one of the four support personnel is a certified pharmacy technician and one is a pharmacy intern; or at least two of the support personnel are certified pharmacy technicians. [CMR 247.8.06]

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

Michigan
Michigan Board of Pharmacy
611 W Ottawa, First Floor PO Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909-8170
Phone: 517/335-0918
Fax: 517/373-2179
Web site: www.michigan.gov/healthlicense
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required:

Types of license available & requirements:

Full licensure

  • Submit a complete application form
  • Graduate from an accredited high school or GED
  • Complete a Criminal Background check specifically for your license application.
  • Passes either of the following:
    • The certified pharmacy technician examination given by the pharmacy technician certification board.
    • The certified pharmacy technician examination given by the national health career association.

Limited licensure

  • need to document satisfactory employment of at least 1,000 hours for a two-year period preceding the date of your application.
  • limited license will no longer be valid if you do not remain employed by the same pharmacy

Temporary licensure

Individuals may apply for a temporary license if he or she is preparing for one of examinations listed below:

  • The certified pharmacy technician examination given by the pharmacy technician certification board.
  • The certified pharmacy technician examination given by the national health career association.

The temporary license expires 210 days after the date the temporary license is issued. It can’t be renewed.

Minnesota
Minnesota Board of Pharmacy
2829 University Ave SE, Suite 530 Minneapolis, MN 55414-3251
Phone: 651/201-2825
Fax: 651/201-2837
Web site: www.phcybrd.state.mn.us
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required
1. Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
2. Have high school diploma or GED certificate
3. Applicant must submit an application ($35) to the pharmacy board.
4. Have between 12 to 18 months to complete board-approved pharmacy technician training.

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($20) annually by December 31st. Applicants may renew online.

Training
• a pharmacy technician training program offered by a board-approved, accredited vocational/technical institution or college;
• a pharmacy technician training program accredited by a board-approved, national organization that accredits pharmacy technician training programs;
• a pharmacy technician training program provided by a branch of the United States armed forces or Public Health Service;
• An employer-based program that includes a minimum of 240 hours in a one year period of both theoretical and practical instruction.

*Can submit a variance request to the board www.pharmacy.state.mn.us/forms/vrf.pdf.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. It can be increased to 3:1 if one of the three technicians is certified by PTCB or another national certification body as approved by the board.

Continuing Education
No annual pharmacy technician registration renewal will be issued unless the technician presents the Board with satisfactory evidence of completion of 20 hours of approved CPTE per two-year reporting period, with each period ending on July 31, of odd numbered years.

Mississippi
Mississippi Board of Pharmacy
204 Key Dr, Suite D Madison, MS 39110
Phone: 601/605-5388
Fax: 601/605-9546
Web site: www.mbp.state.ms.us/mbop/Pharmacy.nsf
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Every person who intends to serve as a pharmacy technician must obtain a pharmacy technician registration from the Board. To obtain a pharmacy technician registration the applicant shall meet the following conditions for each Pharmacy Technician Registration issued after April 1, 2011:

A. Have attained eighteen (18) years of age; and
B. Be a high school graduate or hold GED equivalent and furnish copy of such certificate to the Board;
C. Be of good moral character as evidenced by having undergone and successfully passed a criminal background check conducted by the Board; and
D. Have submitted a written application including a passport quality photo on a form(s) prescribed by the Board; and
E. Have paid the initial registration fee not to exceed one-hundred dollars ($50); and
F. Have paid all fees associated with the criminal background check ($40).

Renewal
Required annually by March 31
To renew his/her registration, a technician shall:
A. Submit an application on the form prescribed by the Board; and
B. Pay a renewal fee not to exceed one-hundred dollars ($100.00) for the registration period April 1, 2011 through March 31, 2012 and annually thereafter.
C. Have successfully passed the PTCB or ExCPT exam. This Certification must be maintained as specified or required by the examining authority.

Training
As required by the certification

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. Clerical support personnel are not included in this ratio. [MS Board Reg. Section 73-21-83]

Continuing Education
As required by the certification

Missouri
Missouri Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 625 Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: 573/751-0091
Fax: 573/526-3464
Web site: www.pr.mo.gov/pharmacists.asp
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
All pharmacy technicians must be registered with the Board.

To be registered,
• an applicant must submit an application with the applicable fee and
• undergo a criminal history background check.

Missouri does not currently impose minimum education or certification requirements for technician registration. However, technicians should be appropriately trained to perform the tasks delegated. Note: Additional training is required for technicians performing/assisting in sterile compounding. [20 CSR 2220-2.200(3)].

Applicants may begin working as a pharmacy technician if a completed registration application has
been mailed to the Board. To be complete, the application must include an official fingerprinting
receipt and the required fee. A copy of the application must be maintained on the premises of the
pharmacy. [§ 338.013]. The Board also recommends that the pharmacy and applicant maintain
proof of mailing.

Renewal
Registrations are valid for one year and expire annually on May 31st. Renewal are required

Training
Not Required

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
Not Required

Montana
Montana Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 200513 301 S Park Ave, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513
Phone: 406/841-2371
Fax: 406/841-2305
Web site: bsd.dli.mt.gov/license/bsd_boards/pha_board/board_page.asp
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required to be employed in a Montana Pharmacy to be registered as a Pharmacy Technician-in-Training.

Pharmacy Technician-in-Training (not Certified)
1. Must be at least 18 years old.
2. Must have a high school diploma or equivalent
3. Must submit an application ($60) to the pharmacy board
4. Has 18 months from the time of registration to pass the PTCB or ExCPT certification exam.

Pharmacy Technician (Certified)
• Same as above plus
• Must pass a board-approved pharmacy technician certification exam via PTCB or ExCPT

Renewal
Annual Renewal between May 1- June 30. $25

Training
On the job training and as required by PTCB or ExCPT

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 3:1; however, the pharmacy may petition the board to increase the ratio. [MT Board Reg. 24.174.711]

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

Nebraska
Nebraska Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 94986 Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
Phone: 402/471-2118
Fax: 402/471-3577
Web site: www.hhs.state.ne.us
E-mail: [email protected] OR [email protected]

Registration
Required, within 30 days after being hired.
To register as a pharmacy technician, an individual must:
• Be at least 18 years of age;
• Be a high school graduate or be officially recognized by the State Department of Education as possessing the equivalent degree of education;
• Have never been convicted of any non-alcohol, drug-related misdemeanor or felony;
• File an application with the Department; and
• Pay the applicable fee, $25

Renewal
Pharmacy technician registrations will renew biennially and will expire January 1 of odd-numbered years. The biennial renewal fee is $25 and renewal notices will be sent at least 30 days prior to the expiration date.

Training
On the job training required; Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. [NE Board Reg. ch.128-006]

Continuing Education
No continuing education requirements.

Nevada
Nevada State Board of Pharmacy
431 West Plumb Lane Reno, NV 89509
Phone: 775/850-1440
Fax: 775/850-1444
Web site: bop.nv.gov
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required:
Pharmaceutical Technician in Training
1. Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
2. Applicant must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
3. Applicant must not have been convicted of a felony or have a history of drug abuse.
4. Applicant must submit an application ($40). Every work location requires the application and the $40 fee. Money order or cashier’s check only
5. Expire October 31 of the even numbered years.

Pharmaceutical Technician
• Application with $40 fee
• Either complete a pharmaceutical technician program approved by the board or obtain PTCB or ICPT certification
• Required to work in Nevada as a registered pharmaceutical technician in training for 500 hours.

Renewal
Required. All pharmaceutical technician registration expire October 31 of the even numbered years.

Training
Required, see licensing requirements section

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. A pharmacist may not supervise more than two pharmaceutical technicians or two pharmaceutical technicians-in-training at one time. [NAC 639.250]

Continuing Education
Required: Nevada law requires that you perform 12-hours of in-service training during the 2-year period immediately preceding the renewal of your registration. Your managing pharmacist must approve and maintain a written record of your training and those records are to be maintained in the pharmacy and will be checked during the annual pharmacy inspection. Nevada law also provides that a technician may substitute the completion of the continuing education necessary for recertification by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board for the biennial in-service training. Should this option be chosen, documentation must be maintained in the pharmacy for inspection. The Nevada Law program may NOT be substituted by any other program.

New Hampshire
New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy
57 Regional Dr Concord, NH 03301-8518
Phone: 603/271-2350
Fax: 603/271-2856
Web site: www.nh.gov/pharmacy
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required, $25
1.Applicant must be at least18 years old or have a high school or equivalent diploma, or be working to achieve a high school or equivalent diploma;
2. Be of good moral character;
3. Shall not have been convicted of a drug-related felony or admitted to sufficient facts to warrant such findings; and
4. Shall have training or experience as determined by the pharmacist-in-charge.

Renewal
Required, annually on March 31. $25

Training
On the job training Required
Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program.

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
N/A

New Jersey
New Jersey Board of Pharmacy
124 Halsey St Newark, NJ 07101
Phone: 973/504-6450
Fax: 973/648-3355
Web site: www.nj.gov/lps/ca/medical/pharmacy.htm
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required. $50
1. Applicant must be 18 years of age or older;
2. Applicant must provide evidence of a high school diploma or equivalent;
3. Applicant must show proficiency in written and spoken English;
4. Applicant must submit an application fee
5. Applicant must submit his or her name, address and fingerprints for purposes of a criminal history background check
6. Applicant must submit, as part of the application for registration, evidence of good moral character

Renewal
Biennial registration required.

Training
Not Required: Training is only required when the ratio exceeds 2:1 set by the state board. [NJ Board Reg. 14:14–80] The National Pharmacy Technician Training Program has been approved by the Board of Pharmacy.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1.
A pharmacy that employs a registered pharmacist to pharmacy technician ratio greater than 1:2 shall:
1. Establish written job descriptions, task protocols, and policies and procedures that pertain to the duties performed by the pharmacy technicians;

2. Ensure and document that all pharmacy technicians who are working when the ratio exceeds 1:2 have:

  • Passed the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board’s Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination and have fulfilled the requirements to maintain this status;
  • Passed a Board-approved certification program and have fulfilled the requirements to maintain this status; or
  • Completed a program which includes a testing component which has been approved by the Board as satisfying the criteria set forth in (g) below. Completion of a program with a Board-approved testing component shall qualify the pharmacy technician to work only for the specific pharmacy and/or corporation for which the pharmacy technician was employed when the training was obtained. If the pharmacy technician becomes employed by another pharmacy and/or corporation, the pharmacy technician shall be required to complete the new employer’s training program;

3. Ensure that all pharmacy technicians are knowledgeable in the established job descriptions, task protocols, and policies and procedures in the pharmacy setting in which the technicians are to perform their duties;

4. Ensure that the duties assigned to any pharmacy technician do not exceed the established job descriptions, task protocols, and policies and procedures, nor involve any of the prohibited tasks in (c) above;

5. Ensure that all pharmacy technicians receive in-service training before the pharmacy technicians assume their responsibilities and maintain documentation thereof. A registered pharmacy technician or a pharmacy technician applicant who is receiving in-service training, which shall not exceed 210 days, shall be excluded from the 1 to 2 ratio during such training. A pharmacist shall not supervise more than two persons receiving in-service training at the same time

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

New Mexico
New Mexico Board of Pharmacy
5200 Oakland NE, Suite A Albuquerque, NM 87113
Phone: 505/222-9830
Fax: 505/222-9845
Web site: www.rld.state.nm.us/pharmacy/
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required for:
Non-certified Pharmacy Technicians
1. Must submit a completed application, fees ($30) and a technician training record.
2. Applicant must become nationally certified within the first year of registration. The registration cannot be renewed.

Certified Pharmacy Technician
1. Must submit a completed application, fees
2. PTCB or ExCPT certified.

Renewal
Applicant must submit renewal application ($30) biannually by the last day of the registrant’s birth month.

Training
Required: Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records.

Ratio
The permissible ratio of pharmacy technicians to pharmacists on duty is to be determined by the pharmacist in charge.

Continuing Education
As required to maintain certification

New York
New York State Board of Pharmacy
Washington Ave, 2nd Floor W Albany, NY 12234-1000
Phone: 518/474-3817 ext. 130
Fax: 518/473-6995
Web site: www.op.nysed.gov
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Not Required

Renewal
Not Required

Training
Not Required

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. [NY Board Reg. 29.7-21.ii.a]

Continuing Education
Not Required

North Carolina
North Carolina Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 4560 Chapel Hill, NC 27515-4560
Phone: 919/246-1050
Fax: 919/246-1056
Web site: www.ncbop.org
E-mail: [email protected]

BASIC REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION AS A PHARMACY TECHNICIAN IN NORTH CAROLINA
In order to become registered as a technician in North Carolina the law requires that an applicant shall present to the Board of Pharmacy satisfactory evidence that the applicant:
1. Holds a high school diploma or equivalent or is currently enrolled in a program that awards a high school diploma;
2. Is employed by a pharmacy holding a valid in-state pharmacy permit;
3. Completes a training program approved by the supervising pharmacist-manager that includes: pharmacy terminology, pharmacy calculations, dispensing systems and labeling requirements, pharmacy laws and regulations, record keeping and documentation, and the proper handling and storage of medications.
OR
1. Holds a current pharmacy technician certification issued by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (“PTCB”)

TECHNICIAN TRAINING
The training program required for technicians shall be provided by the supervising pharmacy manager. The requirements of the training program may differ depending upon the type of employment. The pharmacist-manager shall consider prior training including, specifically, a registrant’s holding a military occupational specialty of pharmacy technician.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. The ratio may be increased if the additional technicians have passed a nationally recognized pharmacy technician certification approved by the board. [NCAC 46.3301]

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

North Dakota
North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 1354 Bismarck, ND 58502-1354
Phone: 701/328-9535
Fax: 701/328-9536
Web site: www.nodakpharmacy.com
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Technician in Training
• $10
• Must complete pharmacy technician training within two years.

Registered Pharmacy Technician
1. Applicant must complete an academic program or on-the-job training program that is accredited by ASHS
2. Applicant must submit an application ($35) to the pharmacy board.
3. PTCB certification is required and must be obtained before registration

Renewal
Applicant must submit a renewal application ($35) to the pharmacy board annually by March 1st.

Training
Training is required to become a registered technician in the state of North Dakota. Training can be completed as outlined in the regulations. Technicians must successfully complete:
1. An academic program accredited by ASHS, OR
2. An on-the-job training program that is accredited by ASHS.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 3:1 in retail settings and 4:1 in hospitals or closed-door pharmacy settings.

Continuing Education
Required: Technicians are required to complete 20 hours of approved pharmacy technician CE every two years.

Ohio
Ohio State Board of Pharmacy
77 S High St, Room 1702 Columbus, OH 43215-6126
Phone: 614/466-4143
Fax: 614/752-4836
Web site: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Not Required:
“The Ohio State Board of Pharmacy does not license, register, or certify Pharmacy Technicians. There is no legal requirement to be licensed, registered, or certified as a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Ohio. In order to be “qualified,” Section 4729.42(A) of the Revised Code states that a person must be under the personal supervision of a pharmacist and meet all of the following:

1) Be eighteen years of age or older,

2) Possess a high school diploma, possess a certificate of high school equivalence, or was employed prior to the effective date of this section (4/8/09) as a pharmacy technician without a high school diploma or a certificate of high school equivalence,

3) Pass an examination approved by the Ohio State Board of Pharmacy,

4) Submit to a criminal records check and the results do not show that the person previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to any felony in this state, any other state, or the United States.”

PTCB & ExCPT are board approved examinations

Renewal
Renewal may be necessary depending on the specific requirements of an exam taken to become “qualified” to be a pharmacy technician in the state of Ohio. Requirements will vary among tests.

Training
As Required to obtain national certification

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
As required to maintain certification

Oklahoma
Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy
4545 Lincoln Blvd, Suite 112 Oklahoma City, OK 73105-3488
Phone: 405/521-3815
Fax: 405/521-3758
Web site: www.pharmacy.ok.gov
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Permit required
(a) A pharmacy technician must have completed a high school education or G.E.D.
equivalence, be of good moral character, be non-impaired (e.g. alcohol or drugs) and have
adequate education to perform assigned duties.

(b) The pharmacy technician must, at a minimum, satisfactorily complete a pharmacy
technician on-the-job training (OJT) program as described in 535:15-13-13. The pharmacy manager or designated pharmacist must verify the applicant’s completion of Phase I of the board approved pharmacy technician training program.

A technician must complete Phase II within 90 days after issuance of a Pharmacy technician permit.

(c) The Director of Pharmacy must demonstrate that the pharmacy technician has been
given additional training before being allowed to prepare sterile products and that the
training given is at a level consistent with the scope of pharmaceutical product being
prepared.

(d) A pharmacy technician, to be eligible for a technician permit, must comply with the requirements in this Title and 535:25.

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($40) to the pharmacy board annually by the last day of the registrant’s birth month.

Training
Required: Pharmacy manager is responsible for administering a training program and maintaining records. The instructional text of the training program must be kept in the pharmacy and submitted for approval to the Board on request.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. [OK Board Reg. 535:15-13-5]

Continuing Education
The pharmacist manager shall assure that the pharmacy technician remains competent through continuing on-the-job training.

Oregon
Oregon State Board of Pharmacy
800 NE Oregon St, Suite 150 Portland, OR 97232
Phone: 971/673-0001
Fax: 971/673-0002
Web site: www.pharmacy.state.or.us
E-mail: [email protected]

Licensure
Required:
Pharmacy Technician License
• Is 1 year, non-renewable license
• $50 application fee. $52 background check
• Must become nationally certified one year after initial licensure or before the licensee’s 19th birthday, whichever is later.
• That means applicants must become licensed as a Certified Pharmacy Technician to continue working as a technician

Certified pharmacy technician
1. Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
2. Applicant must provide evidence of a high school diploma or GED.
3. Applicant must submit an application ($35) to the pharmacy board.
4. Must take and pass a national certification exam through PTCB or NHA

Renewal
Certified Pharmacy technician license expires September 30th annually, and requires renewal ($50)

Training
Required: Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program including on-the-job training and is responsible for maintaining records.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. The pharmacy can petition the board to increase the ratio. [ORS 689.225]

Continuing Education
Required, also required to maintain certification. Certified technicians are required to complete and report at least one hour of pharmacy law, appropriate to the applicant’s work setting and functions. Fifty minutes equal one contact hour. [OAR 855-025-0015]

Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 2649 Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
Phone: 717/783-7156
Fax: 717/787-7769
Web site: www.dos.state.pa.us/pharm
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Not Required

Renewal
Not Required

Training
Not Required

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
Not Required

Rhode Island
Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy
3 Capitol Hill, Room 205 Providence, RI 02908-5097
Phone: 401/222-2837
Fax: : 401/222-2158
Web site: www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/pharmacy.php
E-mail: [email protected]

Licensure
Required. There are two levels of licensure.

Pharmacy Technician I (an explorer- specific license)
• Submit an application and fee
• Employer specific license
• Of good moral and professional character
• 18 years of age or older with the exception of those high school students working in pharmacies as part of school or community sponsored career exploration programs
• Be a high school graduate or the equivalent, or currently enrolled in a high school or vocation al training program that awards such degree or certificate
• Subject to background check
• Currently enrolled in or successfully completed a board approved pharmacy technician I training program.

Pharmacy Technician II (a transferable- specific license)
1. Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
2. Applicant must provide evidence of a high school diploma or equivalent.
3. Applicant must submit an application ($40) to the pharmacy board.
4. Applicant can have no prior felony convictions related to controlled substances.
5. Have successfully passed PTCB or ExCPT

Renewal
Required annually

Training
Required

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
• Satisfactorily complete at least ten (10) hours (1 continuing education unit) of
continuing education courses, sponsored by a recognized provider, during the
current licensing cycle;
• Complete at least three (3) hours (0.3 continuing education units) of the required
ten (10) hours of continuing education as live hours;
• Maintain documentation of all required continuing education for a period of at least
two (2) years from the date the training was completed.

South Carolina
South Carolina Board of Pharmacy
Kingstree Bldg 110 Centerview Dr, Suite 306 Columbia, SC 29210
Phone: 803/896-4700
Fax: 803/896-4596
Web site: www.llronline.com/POL/pharmacy
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
State registration requirements (before beginning employment)
1. Applicant must a high school diploma or equivalent.
2. Subject to background check
3. Applicant must submit an application ($40) to the pharmacy board.
4. Pharmacy technician training
5. 18 years or older

State Certification
1. Current pharmacy technician registration
2. High school diploma or GED
3. Complete a formal academic training accredited by ASHP
4. Pass the PTCB exam
5. Applicant must work for 1000 hours of practice as a registered technician

Renewal
Required annually before June 30th. Applicant must submit a renewal application ($25) to the pharmacy board annually by July 1st. Renewal applications can be submitted online. [SC Prac Act 40-43-82(A-2)].

Training
Required: Technicians must complete a board-approved training program that meets the criteria outlined in [SC Prac Act 40-43-82 (D)]

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1 but may be increased to 3:1 if two out of the three technicians are certified by a board-approved program. [SC Prac Act 40-43-86 (B) (4)]

Continuing Education
Required: For renewal, 10 hours of CE by ACPE approved continuing education must be completed. Four of those hours must be live.

South Dakota
South Dakota State Board of Pharmacy
4305 S Louise Ave, Suite 104 Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone: 605/362-2737
Fax: 605/362-2738
Web site: www.pharmacy.sd.gov
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required, within 30 days of accepting employment as a pharmacy technician. Students who are in a college-based technician training program are also required to obtain a pharmacy technician registration prior to beginning on-site practical experience.

1. Initial registration must be submitted within 30 days of employment.
2. Applicant must submit an application ($25) to the pharmacy board.

Renewal
Registrations expire on Oct 31 each year. Applicant must submit a renewal application ($25

Training
Required: Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for developing, implementing, and periodically reviewing written policies and procedures for training and utilizing pharmacy technicians appropriate to the practice of pharmacy.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. [SD Board Reg. 20:51:29:19]

Continuing Education
Not Required

Tennessee
Tennessee Board of Pharmacy
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance Board of Pharmacy
Davy Crockett Tower, 2nd Floor 500 James Robertson Pkwy Nashville, TN 37243-1149
Phone: 615/741-2718
Fax: 615/741-2722
Web site: health.state.tn.us/boards/Pharmacy/applications.shtml
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required:
1. Applicant must submit an application ($50) to the pharmacy board.
2. Background check required
3. Declaration of citizenship required

Renewal
Applicant must submit a renewal application ($50) to the pharmacy board biannually beginning on the day the license was initially granted.

Training
Not Required

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. This ratio may be increased to 3:1 if one of the technicians is certified. [TN Board Reg. 1140-2-.02]

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification.

Texas
Texas State Board of Pharmacy
333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 600 Austin, TX 78701-3942
Phone: 512/305-8000
Fax: 512/305-8082
Web site: www.tsbp.state.tx.us
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required. Two levels:
Technician Trainees
• Valid for two years only and may not be renewed
• Not required to obtain CE hours
• Have a high school or equivalent diploma, or be working to achieve a high school or equivalent diploma

Pharmacy Technicians Registration Requirements
1. Have a high school or equivalent diploma or be working to achieve a high school or equivalent diploma.
2. Either have taken and passed the PTCB or being granted exemption from certification by the board
3. Submit application and fee
4. Subject to background check

Renewal
Required. Registrations expire on the last day of the assigned expiration month.
Applicant must submit a renewal application ($53) to the pharmacy board biannually.

Training
Only on the job training required
Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records. [TAC 297.6]

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1, but can be increased to 3:1 with no more than two “pharmacy technician trainees.” Specific pharmacies may have up to five technicians to one pharmacist if the pharmacy does not dispense more than 20 different drugs and does not compound intravenous or intramuscular drugs. [TX Board Reg. 291.32 and TAC 297.6]

Continuing Education
Required: All pharmacy technicians are exempt from the CE requirements during their initial registration period. Pharmacy technicians must complete 20 hours of approved continuing education per renewal period in pharmacy related subjects (no more than 10 hours may be earned in service education and training. One hour must be related to pharmacy law.)

Utah
Utah Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 146741 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
Phone: 801/530-6179
Fax: 801/530-6511
Web site: www.dopl.utah.gov/
E-mail: [email protected] (through Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing)

Licensure
Required
1. Applicant must pass the Board’s criminal background check. And produce satisfactory evidence of good moral character.
2. Applicant must complete a training program approved by the board:

  • On the job training in UT
  • Formal training program
  • Licence in another state and have worked 1000 hours or more within the past two years
  • *UTAH Board approved curriculum of education includes a min of 180 hours of practical experience

3. Applicant must submit an application ($95) to the pharmacy board.
4. Applicant document current certification by a national, board-approved pharmacy technician certification exam. (PTCB, or ExCPT)
5. Applicant must submit three blueprint finger cards. (Form FD-258)
6. take UTAH laws and rules examination.

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($47) to the pharmacy board.

Training
Required: Individuals must complete a board-approved technician training program. The training program must require at least 180 hours of practical training supervised by a licensed pharmacist.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 3:1 and only one of the three technicians can be unlicensed.

Continuing Education
Required: Applicant must complete 20 hours of qualifying continuing education. At least eight hours must be live lecture or seminars and one hour must cover pharmacy law and ethics. [UT Board Reg. R156-17b-309]

Vermont
Vermont Board of Pharmacy
Office of Professional Regulation 26 Terrace St Montpelier, VT 05609-1106
Phone: 802/828-2373
Fax: 802/828-2465
Web site: www.vtprofessionals.org
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required:
1. Applicant must submit an application ($50) to the pharmacy board.
2. After application has been submitted, the individual may act as a technician for up to 30 days while awaiting a response.

Renewal
Applicant must submit a renewal application ($50) to the pharmacy board biannually by July 31st.

Training
On the job training, no formal education required

Ratio
N/A

Continuing Education
Not Required

Virginia
Virginia Board of Pharmacy
Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Richmond, Virginia 23233
Phone: (804) 367-4456
Fax: (804) 527-4472
Web site: www.dhp.virginia.gov/pharmacy
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required. A person, who is enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician training program, can work as a pharmacy technician for up to nine months while going through the process to become registered.

There are two methods for obtaining registration as a pharmacy technician. Either of the following methods is acceptable.

1. If an individual holds current certification from the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB), then he may submit the online Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician to the Board for review. Information regarding obtaining certification from PTCB may be accessed at www.ptcb.org and the Board’s online application may be accessed at www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/.

2. An individual must satisfactorily complete a Virginia Board of Pharmacy approved training program, pass a Board of Pharmacy approved examination, and then submit the online Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician to the Board for review. There are many Board approved pharmacy technician training programs from which to choose. A complete list may be found by here. Additionally, there are currently two Board approved examinations. An individual may either take and pass the Virginia Pharmacy Technician Exam or the ExCPT exam. Information for the Virginia Pharmacy Technician Exam may be accessed at www.smttest.com/vapt and information for the ExCPT exam may be accessed at www.nationaltechexam.org

3. Applicant must submit an application ($25) to the pharmacy board.

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application online ($25) to the pharmacy board annually. [18VAC110-20-105]

Training
Required, see under licensing section

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 4:1. Of the four technicians, only two may be technicians-in-training. [18VAC110-20-270]

Continuing Education
Registered Pharmacy Technicians are required to obtain a minimum of 5 contact hours of continuing pharmacy education (CPE) per calendar year in order to maintain an active registration. This brochure is intended to help pharmacy technicians to better understand the CPE requirements. The Board of Pharmacy prepared this document as a guide in order to promote compliance with the statutes and regulations concerning CPE.

Washington
Washington State Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 47863 Olympia, WA 98504-7863
Phone: 360/236-4825
Fax: 360/586-4359
Web site: www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/PharmacyTechnician/ApplicationsandForms.aspx
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required:
1. Applicant must achieve a high school diploma or a GED.
2. Applicant must provide evidence of successfully completing a commission-approved training program.
3. Applicant must submit proof of HIV/AIDS training.
4. Passing a national pharmacy technician certification examination
4. Applicant must apply for certification ($60) from the board of pharmacy.

Renewal
Required: Applicant must submit a renewal application ($50) to the pharmacy board annually on or before his/her birthday.

Training
Required: Training must be completed at a board-approved training program which includes 520 hours of combined lecture, discussion, and testing. Of the 520 hours, at least eight hours must be devoted to studying Washington Pharmacy Law.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 3:1. The pharmacy may petition the board to exceed the current ratio. [WAC 246-901-130]

Continuing Education
Only required to maintain certification

West Virginia
West Virginia Board of Pharmacy
232 Capitol St Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304/558-0558
Fax: 304/558-0572
Web site: www.wvbop.com/
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Required:
Pharmacy Technician Trainee (within 30 days of employment start date)
• Must receive 2080 hours within two years
• 18 years or older
• High school diploma or equivalent

Pharmacy Technician Registration
1. Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
2. Applicant must provide evidence of a high school diploma or equivalent.
3. Applicant must complete 20 hour training program
4. Applicant must submit an application ($25) the board of pharmacy.
5. PTCB

Renewal
Applicant must submit a renewal application ($30) to the pharmacy board annually by July 1st.

Training
Required: Technician trainees must complete a Board-approved training program.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 4:1. [WV Prac Act 30-5-5a]

Continuing Education
Not Required. Only per certification requirements.

Wisconsin
Wisconsin Pharmacy Examining Board
1400 E Washington PO Box 8935 Madison, WI 53708-8935
Phone: 608/266-2112
Fax: 608/267-0644
Web site: dsps.wi.gov/Default.aspx?Page=50667d91-727c-4c8c-9236-a643a06a5bb0
E-mail: [email protected]

Registration
Not Required

Renewal
Not Required

Training
Not Required

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 4:1. The pharmacy may petition the board to exceed the ratio. [WI Prac Act 7.01 (3)]

Continuing Education
Not Required

Wyoming
Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy
1712 Carey Avenue, Suite 200 Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: 307/634-9636
Fax: 307/634-6335
Web site: pharmacyboard.state.wy.us/
E-mail: [email protected]

Licensure
Required:
Pharmacy technicians in training (within 10 calendar days of starting on the job training)
1. Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
2. Applicant must not have any felony or gross misdemeanor convictions related to controlled substances within 36 months of submitting an application.
3. Applicant must obtain a high school diploma or its equivalent.
4. Applicant can have no history of drug abuse or provide satisfactory evidence of rehabilitation.
5. Applicant must submit a technician-in-training application ($15) which is valid for two years and non-renewable. A waiver must also be submitted to the board. This serves as work permit until the applicant is qualified to become a technician. Applicants must contact the Wyoming board of pharmacy for applications.
6. Work site specific.

Pharmacy Technicians
1. Same as Pharmacy Technicians in training
2. Plus PTCB certification
3. Applicant must submit an application (must request from Wyoming board of pharmacy) for licensure as a technician.

Renewal
Required: $35 annually including submitting CE documentation by December 31st.

Training
Required: Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records.

Ratio
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 3:1. [WY Board Reg. C 10-6]

Continuing Education
Required: Every technician seeking renewal of his or her pharmacy technician license must submit six contact hours of approved continuing education. [WY Board Reg. C 10-11]